SCHOOL DISTRICT No. 5 SOUTHEAST KOOTENAY 2024 TRUSTEE STANDING COMMITTEES

POLICY COMMITTEE	Wendy Turner (co-chair) Nicole Heckendorf (co-chair) Sarah Madsen Alysha Clarke	Jason Tichauer
FINANCE OPERATIONS PERSONNEL COMMITTEE	Chris Johns (co-chair) Irene Bischler (co-chair) Nicole Heckendorf Wendy Turner	Nick Taylor
ADVOCACY EDUCATION COMMITTEE	Trina Ayling (co-chair) Alysha Clarke (co-chair) Bev Bellina Sarah Madsen	Diane Casault
STUDENT SERVICES COMMITTEE	Bev Bellina (co-chair) Trina Ayling (co-chair) Chris Johns Irene Bischler	Darcy Verbeurgt

The Board Chair will attend all meetings.

Both the Superintendent and Secretary Treasurer (when available) will be ex-officio Administrative Representatives for all Committees.

The Chairperson will be ex-officio Trustee Representative for all Committees.

AD HOC	TRUSTEE REPS	ALTERNATE
Aboriginal Council on Education	Doug McPhee	Alysha Clarke
Accessibility	Wendy Turner	Doug McPhee
B.C.P.S.E.A.	Trina Ayling	Irene Bischler
B.C.S.T.A. Provincial Council	Bev Bellina	Alysha Clarke
CFTA Bargaining Support Team	Irene Bischler	Doug McPhee
CFTA Grievances	Doug McPhee	Irene Bischler
Chamber of Commerce (Cranbrook)	Chris Johns	Trina Ayling
Communications/Media Committee	Trina Ayling	Chris Johns
CUPE Bargaining Support Team	Nicole Heckendorf	Doug McPhee
CUPE Grievances	Doug McPhee	Chris Johns
DPAC	Wendy Turner	Alysha Clarke
DSAC	Bev Bellina	Nicole Heckendorf
Early Years Committee (Cranbrook)	Wendy Turner	Irene Bischler
Early Years Committee (Elkford)	Sarah Madsen	Bev Bellina
Early Years Committee (Fernie)	Nicole Heckendorf	Sarah Madsen
Early Years Committee (Sparwood)	Bev Bellina	Sarah Madsen
Food Security	Irene Bischler	Alysha Clarke
French Advisory Committee	Nicole Heckendorf	Doug McPhee
Key City Theatre	Trina Ayling	Wendy Turner
Legacy of Learning	Chris Johns	
MBSS Building Replacement	Chris Johns	All
Social Planning Committee	Sarah Madsen	Irene Bischler
Technology Committee	Nicole	
Traffic Safety Committee	Chris	
Trustee/Board Evaluation	Doug McPhee	All

Reminders:

- The purpose of all meetings is to help students.
- Trustees are encouraged to keep abreast of what's happening in our schools and look for opportunities to lend a helping hand.
- Committees must not take on the role of the Board. (Just as the Board must not act like a Committee.)
- The public's perception of our actions will be just as important as the action itself.
- Trustees and Committee members should agree or disagree with motions or ideas not with people.
- Committees recommend or advise.
- Two trustees will be assigned to all job interviews involving school and/or district-based leadership

2024 VICE CHAIRPERSON

BOARD OF EDUCATION SCHOOL DISTRICT No. 5 (SOUTHEAST KOOTENAY)

January	Alysha Clarke
Alternate	Trina Ayling
February	Nicole Heckendorf
Alternate	Irene Bischler
March	Sarah Madsen
Alternate	Bev Bellina
April	Chris Johns
Alternate	Wendy Turner
May	Alysha Clarke
Alternate	Chris Johns
June	Irene Bischler
Alternate	Nicole Heckendorf
July	Bev Bellina
Alternate	Sarah Madsen
August	Wendy Turner
Alternate	Trina Ayling
September	Alysha Clarke
Alternate	Chris Johns
October	Nicole Heckendorf
Alternate	Irene Bischler
November	Sarah Madsen
Alternate	Bev Bellina
December	Trina Ayling
Alternate	Wendy Turner

SCHOOL DISTRICT 5 SOUTHEAST KOOTENAY TRUSTEES 2024 SCHOOL ASSIGNMENTS

CRANBROOK	Highlands Elementary	Chris Johns
	Mount Baker Secondary	Chris Johns
	Alternate Programs (KES/KDS)	Doug McPhee
	Parkland Middle	Doug McPhee
	Kootenay Orchards Elementary	Doug McPhee
	Amy Woodland Elementary	Irene Bischler
	Gordon Terrace Elementary	Irene Bischler
	Pinewood Elementary	Trina Ayling
	TM Roberts Elementary	Trina Ayling
	Laurie Middle	Wendy Turner
	Steeples Elementary	Wendy Turner
FERNIE	Isabella Dicken Elementary Fernie Secondary Kootenay Discovery Kootenay Learning Campus	Nicole Heckendorf
SOUTH COUNTRY	Jaffray Elementary Junior Secondary	Alysha Clarke
SPARWOOD	Frank J. Mitchell Elementary Sparwood Secondary	Bev Bellina
ELKFORD	Rocky Mountain Elementary Elkford Secondary	Sarah Madsen

^{*}The Chairperson will attempt to visit all schools.