

October 18, 2021

Stephanie Higginson, President British Columbia School Trustees Association 4th floor - 1580 West Broadway Vancouver BC V6J 5K9

Dear Ms. Higginson,

RE: Support for Increased School Life Cycle Funding

The School District 5 (SD5), Southeast Kootenay Media/Communications Standing Committee was recently reviewing past motion/action items of the Board of Education and noticed that the following motion, requiring action from this Committee had not been sent.

At the May 11th Public Board meeting, the Board carried the following motion:

That the Board send a letter to BCSTA in support of their recommendations to the BC Government for increased school life cycle funding.

Despite the tardiness of this letter, our Board feels it is still important to indicate our support for the BCSTA letter of March 31st, 2021, "School Life Funding".

Our Board supports the work of the BCSTA Capital Working Group report, "*The Case for Increased School Life Cycle Funding*" and appreciate the report's focus on the **province-wide** need to address the steadily increasing levels of deferred maintenance of school district capital assets.

Frank Lento (Chair) • Trina Ayling • Bev Bellina • Krista Damstrom • Chris Johns • Kathryn Kitt • Doug McPhee • Wendy Turner • Patricia Whalen Our Board heartily agrees that regular maintenance for facilities is critical to providing safe, efficient learning environments for our students and that this can be best achieved with **adequate** annual funding.

Sincerely,

Frank Lento, Board Chair

Cc*: John Horgan, Premier, BC New Democratic Party Shirley Bond, Interim Leader, BC Liberal Party Sonia Furstenau, Leader, BC Green Party Tom Shypitka, MLA Kootenay East BC Jackie Tegart, Education Critic BC Liberal Party Stephanie Higginson, President, BCSTA BCSTA for distribution to member Boards of Education Teri Mooring, President BC Teachers' Federation Andrea Sinclair, President, BCCPAC Shelley Balfour & Chris Kielpinski, CFTA Co-Chairs Patti Pocha, CUPE President Tara McKee, DPAC Chair Aaron Thorn, President, SD5 Administrators' Association 107.5 Today FM Radio Drive 102.9/B104 Radio Cranbrook Daily Townsman Elk Valley Herald e-know Online News Fernie Free Press

*This correspondence is public and transparent. Please feel free to share and/or respond with comment.

Frank Lento (Chair) • Trina Ayling • Bev Bellina • Krista Damstrom • Chris Johns • Kathryn Kitt • Doug McPhee • Wendy Turner • Patricia Whalen

940 Industrial Road #1, Cranbrook BC, V1C 4C6 • Tel: 250.417.2055 • Fax: 250.489.5460 • www.sd5.bc.ca