October 18, 2021

Jennifer Whiteside, Minister of Education Room 124 Parliament Buildings Victoria, BC V8V 1X4

Dear Minister Whiteside,

RE: Timelier Response Needed from the Teacher Regulation Branch (TRB)

The School District 5 (SD5), Southeast Kootenay Media/Communications Standing Committee was recently reviewing past motion/action items of the Board of Education and noticed that the following motion, requiring action from this Committee had not been sent.

At the June 15th Public Board meeting, the Board carried the following motion:

That the Board write a letter to Minister Whiteside in support of BCSTA's letter of February 10, 2021, asking for a timelier response from the Teacher Regulation Branch (TRB).

Despite the tardiness of this letter, our Board feels it is still important to address the need for a timelier response from the TRB.

Our district is both urban and rural and is located close to the Alberta border. Our area employs many professionals from Alberta. However, due to TRB delays, our "geographic advantage" does not translate into the advantage it could be.

These delays not only affect out-of-province candidates; many recent BC university graduates and professionals (ie: psychologists, red-seal tradespersons etc.) also experience delays when applying for certification or Letters of Permission (LOPs). These

Frank Lento (Chair) • Trina Ayling • Bev Bellina • Krista Damstrom • Chris Johns • Kathryn Kitt • Doug McPhee • Wendy Turner • Patricia Whalen

delays not only affect the programs and services we offer our students, but also creates an unnecessary workload on our already overextended district.

We have a high need for qualified teaching staff, especially in our Elk Valley communities yet when we find a candidate willing to work in one of these communities, the TRB delays introduce challenges to an already challenging process.

Can you please provide us with a timely response outlining what the Ministry of Education (MoE) plans to do to address this issue?

Sincerely,

Frank Lento, Board Chair

Fernie Free Press

Cc*: John Horgan, Premier, BC New Democratic Party Shirley Bond, Interim Leader, BC Liberal Party Sonia Furstenau, Leader, BC Green Party Tom Shypitka, MLA Kootenay East BC Jackie Tegart, Education Critic BC Liberal Party Stephanie Higginson, President, BCSTA BCSTA for distribution to member Boards of Education Teri Mooring, President BC Teachers' Federation Andrea Sinclair, President, BCCPAC Shelley Balfour & Chris Kielpinski, CFTA Co-Chairs Patti Pocha, CUPE President Tara McKee, DPAC Chair Aaron Thorn, President, SD5 Administrators' Association 107.5 Today FM Radio Drive 102.9/B104 Radio Cranbrook Daily Townsman Elk Valley Herald e-know Online News

Frank Lento (Chair) • Trina Ayling • Bev Bellina • Krista Damstrom • Chris Johns • Kathryn Kitt • Doug McPhee • Wendy Turner • Patricia Whalen

^{*}This correspondence is public and transparent. Please feel free to share and/or respond with comment.