

October 18, 2021

Jennifer Whiteside, Minister of Education Room 124 Parliament Buildings Victoria, BC V8V 1X4

Dear Minister Whiteside,

RE: Safe Routes to Schools

The School District 5 (SD5), Southeast Kootenay Media/Communications Standing Committee was recently reviewing past motion/action items of the Board of Education and noticed that the following motion, requiring action from this Committee had not been sent.

At the June 15th Public Board meeting, the Board carried the following motion:

That the Board write a letter to Minister Whiteside in support of the February 3, 2021, BCSTA letter to Ministers Fleming and Whiteside regarding safe routes to Schools.

Despite the tardiness of this letter, our Board feels it is still important to indicate our support for the BCSTA letter of February 3rd, 2021, "*Safe Routes to Schools as part of the Provincial Active Transportation Strategy*", in advocating for the safety of our students.

Our Board fully supports the BCSTA's advocacy re: the importance of prioritizing safe, active transportation to and from public schools and providing options for students.

However, our school district still struggles with the **basic**, **safe transportation of our students** to and from school each day.

Our District is made up of both urban and rural communities. Many rural students in our District will spend hundreds of hours traveling our highways in both dry and inclement weather during their school careers.

Frank Lento (Chair) • Trina Ayling • Bev Bellina • Krista Damstrom • Chris Johns • Kathryn Kitt • Doug McPhee • Wendy Turner • Patricia Whalen As such, our District **continues to advocate to the Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure** (MoTI) for adequate signage, safe highway speed limits and meaningful penalties for drivers exceeding posted speed limits.

Our Board believes strongly that collaboration between the Ministry of Education (MoE) and Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure (MoTI), as advocated by the BCSTA is important.

No less important is the need for collaboration between the MoTI and individual Boards of Education. This is paramount to ensuring the safety of rural students across the province.

Sincerely,

Frank Lento, Board Chair

Cc*: John Horgan, Premier, BC New Democratic Party Shirley Bond, Interim Leader, BC Liberal Party Sonia Furstenau, Leader, BC Green Party Tom Shypitka, MLA Kootenay East BC Jackie Tegart, Education Critic BC Liberal Party Stephanie Higginson, President, BCSTA BCSTA for distribution to member Boards of Education Teri Mooring, President BC Teachers' Federation Andrea Sinclair, President, BCCPAC Shelley Balfour & Chris Kielpinski, CFTA Co-Chairs Patti Pocha, CUPE President Tara McKee, DPAC Chair Aaron Thorn, President, SD5 Administrators' Association 107.5 Today FM Radio Drive 102.9/B104 Radio Cranbrook Daily Townsman Elk Valley Herald e-know Online News Fernie Free Press

*This correspondence is public and transparent. Please feel free to share and/or respond with comment.

Frank Lento (Chair) • Trina Ayling • Bev Bellina • Krista Damstrom • Chris Johns • Kathryn Kitt • Doug McPhee • Wendy Turner • Patricia Whalen

940 Industrial Road #1, Cranbrook BC, V1C 4C6 • Tel: 250.417.2055 • Fax: 250.489.5460 • www.sd5.bc.ca