

# The Board of Education of School District No. 5 (Southeast Kootenay) AGENDA - INAUGURAL MEETING Swearing-in 3:00 p.m. Meeting 3:15 p.m.

December 9, 2014

Board Office

**Pages** 

3

- 1. Call to Order
  - 1.1 Election Results and Confirmation of Oath
  - 1.2 Introduction of Board of Education
- 2. Agenda as per Procedural Bylaws
- 3. Election of Chairperson
- 4. Election of Vice Chairperson
- 5. Election of BC School Trustees Association Provincial Councilor and Alternate (BCSTA)
- 6. Election of BC Public School Employers' Association Representative and Alternate (BCPSEA)
- 7. Appointment of Time and Place for Meetings
  - 7.1 Board Meeting Schedule
- 8. Appointment of Signing Officers
  - 8.1 Signing Officers for School District No. 5 (Southeast Kootenay)
    December 2014 December 2018

M/S that the Chairperson of the Board, in conjunction with the Secretary Treasurer, be authorized as the signing officers for the School District, and in the event of the absence of the Chairperson, the Vice Chairperson is duly appointed as alternate signing authority, and futher, that in the event of the absence of the Secretary Treasurer, the Superintendent of Schools is duly authorized as signing authority.

9. Trustee Standing Committees and School Assignments

4

- 9.1 Trustee Standing Committees
- 10. Adjournment



## Meetings of the Board of Education of School District 5 Southeast Kootenay

#### REGULAR PUBLIC, REGULAR IN-CAMERA AND STANDING COMMITTEES

#### 2014-2015

<u>2014</u>	September 9 September 22	2:00 & 5:00 p.m.	Board Meetings* Committee Meetings	Cranbrook Cranbrook
	October 14 October 27	2:00 & 5:00 p.m.	Board Meetings* Committee Meetings	Sparwood Cranbrook
•	November 12 November 24	2:00 & 5:00 p.m.	Board Meetings* Committee Meetings	Cranbrook Cranbrook
	December 9	2:00 & 5:00 p.m.	Board Meetings*	Cranbrook
<u>2015</u>	January 13 January 26	2:00 & 5:00 p.m.	Board Meetings* Committee Meetings	Jaffray Cranbrook
•	February 10 February 23	2:00 & 5:00 p.m.	Board Meetings* Committee Meetings	Cranbrook Cranbrook
	March 10	2:00 & 5:00 p.m.	Board Meetings*	Fernie
	April 14 April 27	2:00 & 5:00 p.m.	Board Meetings* Committee Meetings	Cranbrook Cranbrook
	May 12 May 25	2:00 & 5:00 p.m.	Board Meetings* Committee Meetings	Elkford Cranbrook
	June 9	2:00 & 5:00 p.m.	Board Meetings*	Cranbrook

<sup>\*</sup>In-camera Board meetings will begin at 2:00 p.m.

Other special public or in-camera meetings will be at the call of the Chair as per the Procedural Bylaws. The location of each meeting is to be determined by the Chairperson.

<sup>\*</sup>Public Board meetings will begin at 5:00 p.m.

#### SCHOOL DISTRICT 5 SOUTHEAST KOOTENAY

#### **2014 TRUSTEE STANDING COMMITTEES**

POLICY COMMITTEE	Shaun Damstrom (Co-chair) Gail Brown (Co-chair) Olivia Besanger Trina Ayling	Diane Casault
FINANCE/OPERATIONS/PERSONNEL COMMITTEE	Chris Johns (Co-chair) Curtis Helgesen (Co-chair) Bev Bellina Patricia Whalen	Rob Norum
ADVOCACY/EDUCATION COMMITTEE	Bev Bellina (Co-chair) Patricia Whalen (Co-chair) Chris Johns Gail Brown	Doug McPhee
SPECIAL EDUCATION STUDENT SERVICES COMMITTEE	Olivia Besanger (Co-chair) Chris Johns (Co-chair) Trina Ayling Patricia Whalen	Darcy Verbeurgt

The Board Chair will attend as many meetings as possible.

The Superintendent will be ex-officio Administrative Representative for all Committees.

The Chairperson will be ex-officio Trustee Representative for all Committees.

AD HOC	TRUSTEE REPS	ALTERNATE
Aboriginal Council on Education	Trina Ayling	Gail Brown
B.C.P.S.E.A.	Bev Bellina	Curtis Helgesen
B.C.S.T.A. Provincial Council	Bev Bellina	Trina Ayling
Chamber of Commerce	Chris Johns	
CFTA Grievances	Frank Lento	Trina Ayling
Climate Action	Bev Bellina	
Communications/Media Committee	Rob Norum, Trina Ayling	
Cranbrook in Motion	Patricia Whalen	
Safe Communities Cranbrook	Patricia Whalen, Gail Grown	
Cranbrook Wellness & Heritage	Chris Johns	
CUPE Bargaining Support Team	Bev Bellina	
CUPE Grievances	Chris Johns	Patricia Whalen
DPAC	Trina Ayling	Olivia Besanger
DSAC	Bev Bellina	Gail Brown
Early Childhood Development	Gail Brown	Patricia Whalen
Committee (Cranbrook)		
Early Childhood Development	Curtis Helgesen	
Committee (Elkford)		
Early Childhood Development	Frank Lento	
Committee (Fernie)		
Early Childhood Development	Bev Bellina	
Committee (Sparwood)		
East Kootenay Organization for Human	Bev Bellina	Trina Ayling
Dignity & Equality		
EFAP Committee	Chris Johns	
Fernie Leisure Services	Frank Lento	
French Immersion	Olivia Besanger	Gail Brown
Key City Theatre	Chris Johns	
MBSS Building Replacement	Chris Johns (Chair), all Cranbrook	
	trustees	
Special Education Subcommittee	Chris Johns (Chair), all trustees	
Success by Six	Patricia Whalen	Gail Brown
Technology	Shaun Damstrom	Bev Bellina/Curtis Helgesen
Trustee Self Evaluation	Chris Johns, Olivia Besanger, Patricia	
	Whalen	

#### Reminders:

- The purpose of all meetings is to help students.
- Trustees are encouraged to keep abreast of what's happening in our schools and look for opportunities to lend a helping hand.
- Committees must not take on the role of the Board. (Just as the Board must not act like a Committee.)
- The public's perception of our actions will be just as important as the action itself.
- Trustees and Committee members should agree or disagree with motions or ideas not with people.
- Committees recommend or advise.

#### **2014 VICE CHAIRPERSON**

### BOARD OF TRUSTEES SCHOOL DISTRICT 5 SOUTHEAST KOOTENAY

January	Trustee Ayling	
February	Trustee Bellina	
March	Trustee Damstrom	
April	Trustee Johns	
May	Trustee Besanger	
June	Trustee Brown	
July	Trustee Helgesen	
August	Trustee Whalen	
September	Trustee Ayling	
October	Trustee Bellina	
November	Trustee Damstrom	
December	Trustee Johns	

#### SCHOOL DISTRICT 5 SOUTHEAST KOOTENAY

#### **TRUSTEES**

#### **2014 SCHOOL ASSIGNMENT**

CRANBROOK Kootenay Orchards Trina Ayling

Amy Woodland Trina Ayling Alternate Programs Trina Ayling

Gordon Terrace Olivia Besanger Parkland Olivia Besanger

Pinewood Gail Brown TM Roberts Gail Brown

Highlands Chris Johns Mt. Baker Chris Johns

Laurie Patricia Whalen Steeples Patricia Whalen

FERNIE Isabella Dicken Elementary Frank Lento

Fernie Secondary

Kootenay Discovery: DL

SOUTH COUNTRY Jaffray Elem. Jr. Secondary Shaun Damström

SPARWOOD FJ Mitchell Elementary Bev Bellina

Sparwood Secondary

ELKFORD Rocky Mountain Elementary Curtis Helgesen

Elkford Secondary

The Chairperson will attempt to visit all schools.